everyday life

The struggle is real 

Being a working mama is hard & some days/ weeks are harder then others.

When I’m at work, which is 2 half days and 3 full days you try to give it your all and be the worker you was before you left to give life to another person and for the most part I think I do a bloody good job at fitting my job in to my new hours.

Yes, while at work I miss my daughter like crazy and a big part of me wishes I could be at home with her. But it’s not possible.

The hardest thing about being a working mama is guilt. You feel guilty about every decision you make. I feel guilty on the 2 mornings a week I leave Chloe at nursery, I feel guilty when I leave for work and Chloe is at home with Mr D. Yes I know she will have fun with her daddy but as her mama I feel that it should be me with her.

Then there is the guilt when you have to call work to say that you won’t be in due to your child being ill, or if I have to leave work early to collect chloe from nursey and feeling like I am letting work down. Yes I know it can’t be helped but it doesn’t stop the guilt.

It’s not like when you get home from work you get to relax. Then the wife role is added to the mix and the guilt starts again when you may have been a little short with hubby due to a bad day or being tired and not spending enough time together that was a real killer for me. I missed it being us and that made me feel guilty.

Due to being at work all day I want to spend as much time with Chloe but I am also consious that I need some me time and then feel guilty for counting down to bedtime.

As a parent I think whether working or a stay at home parent you are going to feel some level of guilt no matter what choices you make but I think that is the same with anything in life. You have to do what is right for you at the time.

Mummy Em x 

4 thoughts on “The struggle is real 

  1. It’s tough trying to wear so many hats and as a working mum of two I feel the same struggles as you. But we need to think of the reasons behind why we work or not work it’s all for the good of our families, we are doing the best we can. Keep positive lovely xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Does your blog have a contact page? I’m having a tough time locating it but, I’d like to shoot
    you an e-mail. I’ve got some creative ideas for your blog you might be
    interested in hearing. Either way, great blog and I look forward to
    seeing it grow over time.

    Like

Leave a Reply

