Book swap & Chinese New year Celebrations at V&A Childhood Museum

img_20170211_171712We headed to the V&A Childhood Museum in Bethnal Green yesterday for the book swap event they were holding. If you have not been to one of these I can not recommend them highly enough.

They have them on at lots of different locations. We usual go to the one at the Discovery Centre in Stratford. The clue is pretty much in the title. You take any books you little one no longer wants or needs, and you swap them for new books. We picked up some great new books including one of my faves, Room on the broom.

img_20170211_172136

Also on at the museum was Chinese New Year Celebrations. This included music, arts and crafts and also a demonstration in Kung Fu and Tai Chi. We got to see some beautiful dancing as well in some stunning outfits.

On the top floor they have a game exhibition on with loads of board games for you to play and there are old ones on display such as Pac-Man and Game of Life.  I even tried my hand at chess but must admit I didn’t have a clue what I was doing!

img_20170211_171827

 

We took a picnic with us for lunch, as although they have a lovely café it is expensive but I had to buy a couple of slices of cake and enjoyed some fortune cookies.

This museum is such a great day out, it is literally 2 minutes from Bethnal Green Station and no matter how many times I have been I never get bored and always see something that I missed on my last trip. If you haven’t been you really must take a look you truly wont regret it.

Mummy Em x

Leave a Reply

