My regret of not breastfeeding

As part of National Breastfeeding week (1-7th August) I thought I would share my story.

When I was pregnant I had every intention of breastfeeding. I was so adement that this is what I wanted to do and IT WOULD happen that I didn’t even pack bottles in my hospital bag. I had made my choice to feed my daughter the natural way, the way my body had been made to and I was proud and confident in my desision. However my body had other ideas.

As soon as Chloe was placed on my chest she latched on no problems at all. This is easy I thought l, I’m doing it, I’m feeding my child. It soon become clear that this wasn’t as easy as I had thought. My milk had not come through.

After numerous attempts and numerous nurse’s telling me what to do and making me pretty awful in the process, I was defeated with a hungry baby I asked for a bottle and made an emergency call to Mr D to bring bottles and milk to the hospital.

During my time in hospital I continued to try to breastfeed and again Chloe was latching on but no milk flowed.

When I got home I thought I would try with the breast pump to see if that simulated anything but no, still no milk almost a week after my daughter was been born.

Even when my midwife come to check on us they made a big song and dance about breastfeeding but as I explained my milk hadn’t come in they didn’t see bothered just that I needed to try harder.

If someone had just taken 5 minutes to explain to me that after a c section it does take longer for your milk to come in, I might not have given myself such a hard time and may have tried other options or persevered longer.

Not being able to breastfeed is my biggest parenting regret. Any mama that breastfeed their child I have the utmost admiration for you and think that you are amazing.

For all those mama’s that have just had a c section please please speak to your midwife/nurse and ask for help to get your milk in.

At the end if the day breast or bottle, as long as baby is fed is all that matters.

Mummy Em x

5 thoughts on “My regret of not breastfeeding

  1. Sorry to hear you struggled. I totally agree that it really shouldn’t matter whether you breastfeed or bottle feed, as long as baby is happy and healthy. We all choose different paths for different reasons and that’s OK πŸ™‚

    Thanks so much for sharing with #MMBC. Hope to see you Monday x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

